top of page
  • Writer's picturegraceupmama

Transition from Crib to Bed: What Worked

Hi friends! Welcome back! Gosh it’s been a crazy year so far. I haven’t been able to blog as much as what I had hoped, but, I will be here when I can, sharing as I continue on this motherhood journey.


My son Roman is 2+ now (2 and 3months)! I can’t believe it. He is growing up on me, and truly, I love this stage. Maybe we haven’t hit the “terrible” part of the “terrible twos” yet and it is still to come, but so far, Roman is mostly sweet and loving. His little personality is really developing and it is so fun to watch him learn and grow each week!


Lately, Roman has been learning how to sleep in his big boy bed. He has been sleeping in it for two weeks now and it’s been a mostly smooth transition. This was an unexpected and welcome surprise. I must admit, I was worried about it. Not only were my husband and I moving him into a big boy bed, but we moved his room entirely. With another baby on the way and the decision not to do another nursery, we needed him out of his nursery room. This was a fun opportunity for me to design him a “big boy room” and I think it turned out great! I’ll share some photos of his new room below.







We hung Roman's crib mobile from his nursery inside his teepee


We reused the overall theme from Roman's nursery, which was bears/outdoor adventure. Special items sitting on the dresser are the globe from Roman's nursery decor and the wood slice, which is reused from his 1st birthday decor (Where the Wild Things Are theme). The compass was Roman's baptism gift. The inside of the compass is engraved with the date of his baptism and the saying "Let your faith always guide you." I made the signs in the pictures hanging on the wall above the dresser in Photoshop and drew my inspiration for the room from Pinterest and Etsy. I am very happy with how it all turned out! If you want to shop Roman's room, I will share some links below!

So what did I do to get Roman transitioned? First, I got his room ready and involved him in the process. I had him help as we were hanging things on the walls, putting decorations in there, etc. He started to get excited about it. Once it was all done, Roman didn’t want to go in there at first, but, over time, and as I kept repeating to him that this was his big boy room, he took more and more interest in being in there. We would put him on his bed (a full-size bed with the safety bedrails installed), and read him books, let him jump, just get comfortable. Finally, one Monday night he went in there instead of his nursery. I asked him if he wanted to sleep in there that night, and, although a little apprehensive, he responded “yes.”


The first night really wasn’t as bad as what I anticipated. Of course it was scary…kind of like that first night you put your baby to sleep in his own room in his crib. I was worried and didn’t get a lot of sleep that night because I kept checking the monitor to make sure he had not fallen out. Roman woke up a few times, but bravely went back to sleep each time. He did that same kind of routine for a few days, and then, on Friday that week, he slept through the night!!!


Once Roman had been sleeping in his new big boy room for about a 10 days, I moved his clothes over from his nursery into his big boy room. I wasn’t sure if sleeping in his new big boy bedroom was going to stick or not, so I held off on this step until I was mostly sure he was going to be comfortable in there. Once I did that, I showed him all of his stuff in the drawers, let him get things out himself, showed him his new closet, just really let him have fun seeing where everything was. I think Roman realized that this is his room now, and he began calling it “Ro Ro’s room” and “Ro Ro’s bed.”


Roman has been sleeping in his bed for two weeks now and has not fallen out or gotten out on his own (knock on wood). He still wants my husband or I to come get him in the morning and still wants help getting in his bed. We are lucky, I know. I think having a full-size bed has been good for us—it gives Roman plenty of room to wiggle and turn around without being too close to the edge. We also were using that bed frame in our guest bedroom, so it was nice not to have to buy a new bed or mattress for him. If you’re wondering, we never transitioned to a toddler bed or converted his crib—we just moved him straight from his crib to that bed in his new room. I was worried about that to be honest, but so far, it has worked for us.


Every night when Roman goes to sleep, right before I leave his room, I give him a big hug and tell him how proud I am of him, that I love him so much, that I am right outside if he needs me, and that he is safe. And truly, I am so proud of him. He is going through quite a few transitions right now, and he is handling it all better than I could have ever expected.


Have you gone through the transition from crib to bed? What was your experience like? What worked for you and what didn’t work? As always, thanks for being here and go with grace, mama <3


See something you like in Roman’s room? Here are some links to shop:


· Dresser and side table knobs: Lowes in store find

· Side table lamp: Home Goods find

· Basket underneath side table: Home Goods find

· Bear duvet bedding: Amazon (as of blog posting date, it appears they are out of the bear print)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QPNBJL2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

· Navy throw at end of bed: Target in store find

· Tee pee large floor cushion: Crate and Kids (no longer have navy gingham)- https://www.crateandbarrel.com/teal-corduroy-teepee-cushion/s365314

· Wall shelves: Wayfair (I purchased 4 to create the corner look): https://www.wayfair.com/storage-organization/pdp/gracie-oaks-evonne-wall-shelf-w000239997.html

· Navy metal compass wall decor: Home Goods find

· “Roman” flag bunting custom name sign hanging on wall: Etsy- https://www.etsy.com/shop/stickponystudio?ref=yr_purchases

· Gray frames above dresser hanging on wall: Home Goods find

· Bear/Mountain/Trees/Compass/Map prints in frames above dresser: I made in Photoshop

· Frames sitting on dresser and globe: Home Goods finds

· Compass sitting on dresser (Roman’s baptism gift): Etsy- https://www.etsy.com/listing/498958179/baptism-day-gift-baptized?ref=yr_purchases

102 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page